Contact Us What's New Programs Education Conservation Easements Home

Storm Water Home

Task Force




Commercial Businesses

Education Resources


Portage County
Storm Water Management Program (SWMP)

All counties, townships and municipalities that are regulated under EPA NPDES Phase II, must develop and implement a Storm Water Management Program (SWMP). The SWMP is designed to reduce the discharge of pollutants into waterways and to protect local water quality, and it must address six minimum control measures identified by the Environmental Protection Agency.

Minimum Control Measures
#1 - Public Education & Outreach
#2 - Public Participation & Involvement
#3 - Illicit Discharge Detection & Elimination
#4 - Construction Site Runoff Control
#5 - Post Construction Storm Water Management
#6 - Good Housekeeping & Pollution Prevention

Resource Documents
Portage County Storm Water Management Program
2003 Annual Report
2004 Annual Report
2005 Annual Report
2006 Annual Report
2007 Annual Report